top of page

Annual Awards

This award honors a member otolaryngologist who has done extraordinary work for the Academy or who has made an extraordinary contribution to his/her specialty.

In 2012, the award was named to honor the memory of Helen Krause, MD, FACS, FACO-HNS, FAAOA. Dr. Krause was a pioneer in the specialty who served the Academy in many capacities during her 46 years of membership. She was the consummate example of a strong, female physician leader and the PAO-HNS commemorates her legacy by dedicating this award in her name.


1961    James E. Landis, MD, Reading

1964    Matthew S. Ersner, MD, Philadelphia

1973    Daniel S. DeStio, MD, Pittsburgh

1975    John T. Dickinson, MD, Pittsburgh

1977    David Myers, MD, Philadelphia

1979    James M. Cole, MD, Danville

1980    Silvio H. DeBlasio, MD, Pittsburgh

1983    Bernard J. Ronis, MD, Philadelphia

1985    Eugene G. Rex, MD, Philadelphia

1986    Donald B. Kamerer, MD, Pittsburgh

1988    Stewart R. Rood, PhD, Pittsburgh

1990    G. William Jaquiss, MD, Pittsburgh

1991    Clyde B. Lamp, Jr., MD, Pittsburgh

1992    Donald P. Vrabec, MD, Danville

1993    Helen F. Krause, MD, Pittsburgh

1994    George H. Conner, MD, Hershey

1994    Louis D. Lowry, MD, Philadelphia

1995    Thomas L. Kennedy, MD, Danville

1996    Alfred K. Walter, Reading

1997    Webb Hersperger, MD, Carlisle

​1998    John Milliron, Harrisburg

1999    James B. Snow, Jr., MD, Easton, MD

2003    Phillip K. Pellitteri, DO, FACS, Danville
2004    Karen A. Rizzo, MD, FACS, Lancaster
2005    Barry E. Hirsch, MD, Pittsburgh
2006    Edmund A. Pribitkin, MD, Philadelphia
2007    Scott M. Gayner, MD, Mechanicsburg
2008    Robert T. Sataloff, MD, DMA, FACS, Philadelphia
2009    Robert L. Ferris, MD, PhD, FACS, Pittsburgh
2012    Eugene N. Myers, MD, FACS, Pittsburgh
2013    David W. Kennedy, MD, Philadelphia
2014    Jason G. Newman, MD, FACS, Philadelphia
2015    Berrylin J. Ferguson, MD, FAAOA, FACS, PIttsburgh
2016    David Goldenberg, MD, FACS, Hershey
2017    Jeffrey Simons, MD, FACS, FAAP, Pittsburgh
2018    Jonas T. Johnson, MD
2019    James C. Denneny, III, MD, Alexandria, VA
2020    ​Bert W. O'Malley, Jr., MD 
​2021    Johnathan D. McGinn, MD, Hershey
2022    David M. Cognetti, MD, FACS, Philadelphia

2023    Ahmed M.S. Soliman, MD

Presented to a non-physician who has done unusual work for

the deaf, hearing deaf, hearing, voice, or speech impaired.


​1991    James C. Roddey, Pittsburgh

1993    David P. Augustine, RN, Clinician I, Mt. Carmel

1994    Carol Finkle, M Ed, MA, Philadelphia

1995    Rachel D. Dubin, Baltimore

1996    Patricia Exley Ambler & Ann Friedlander, Wynnewood

1997    Christina Seaborg, MA, Wilkes-Barre

1998    Pamela Dickinson, MS, CCC-A, Pittsburgh

1999    Virginia Ehr, North Myrtle Beach, SC2001    Mark Y. Harlor, M Ed, Danville

2002    Laura R. Sabol, M. Ed, CCC/SLP, Lancaster

2003    Hearing Center of Children’s Hosp of Pitts Community Advisory Board

​2005    Kathleen J. Gilmartin, Au.D., University of Pittsburgh Ear & Eye Inst.

2006    Catherine V. Palmer, Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh Medical Center

2007    George Nofer, JD, Philadelphia, PA
2008    Roberta Aungst, MS, CCC-A
2009    Deborrah Johnston, Au.D., DePaul School for Hearing and Speech
2010    John Nicotra
2012    Donald E. Rhoten, M.Ed., M.S., Pittsburgh
2014    Anne Gaspich, Harrisburg
2016    Mary Hawkshaw, RN, BSN, CORLN, Drexel University College of Medicine ​
2017    Katherine T. Verdolini Abbott, PhD, M.Div
​2018   Margaret McCall Baroody, MM
2019   Linda M. Carroll, PhD
2020   Ruth G. Auld, EdD
2021 Tamara L. Wasserman-Wincko, M.S.
2022 Paula B. Marcinkevich, AuD, CCC-A

2023 Adeline R. Schultz, M.Ed.

Presented to a lay person in Pennsylvania (frequently a legislator) who has rendered outstanding service to

community in support of quality health care.


​1991    State Senator J. Doyle Corman, Bellefonte
1992    State Representative Edwin G. Johnson, Hollidaysburg
1993    State Representative Elaine F. Farmer, McCandless
1994    U. S. Senator Arlen Specter
1995    State Representative Matthew J. Ryan, Delaware County
1996    Hon. Merle Phillips, Sunbury
1997    Gov. Thomas Ridge, Harrisburg
1998    Hon. J. Scot Chadwick, Harrisburg
1999    None Presented
2000    None Presented
2001    Hon. Charles T. McIlhinney, Jr., Harrisburg
2002    Hon. Curt Schroder, Harrisburg
2003    Hon. Jane C. Orie, Pittsburgh
​2004    Hon. Rick Santorum
​2005    Hon. Jake Corman

2006    Hon. Charles D. Lemmond
2007    Hon. Jim Gerlach
2008    Hon. Mike Turzai, Allegheny County 
2009    Hon. P. Michael Sturla, Lancaster County
2010    Hon. Susan Helm, Dauphin County
2012    Hon. Ronald S. Marsico, Dauphin County
2013    Hon. Joseph B. Scarnati, III
2014    Hon. Jay Costa, Pittsburgh
2015    Hon. Mark Mustio
2017    Madame Justice Sandra Schultz Newman
​2018    Hon. Harry Readshaw
2019    Hon. Bryan D. Cutler, JD, BS RTR, Lancaster County
2020    Hon. David S. Hickernell
2021    Hon. Kerry A. Benninghoff
2022    Hon. Marty Flynn

2023     Hon. Ryan P. Aument

The Ellie Goldenberg Award is presented in loving memory of Ellie Goldenberg (z"l), by her parents Drs. Renee and David Goldenberg’s . In establishing this award, the Goldenberg Family wants Ellie’s legacy of hard work, dedication, and kindness to be commemorated and perpetuated for generations.


​2023    Kasra Ziai , MD and Nicole Molin, MD


bottom of page