PAO-HNS Awards

​​ Helen Krause, MD Distinguished Service Award

This award honors a member otolaryngologist who has done extraordinary work for the Academy, or who has made an extraordinary contribution to his/her specialty. In 2012, the award is named in memory of Helen Krause, MD, FACS, FACO-HNS, FAAOA. Dr. Krause was a pioneer in the specialty who served the Academy in many capacities during her 46 years of membership. She was the consummate example of a strong, female physician leader and the PAO-HNS commemorates her legacy by dedicating this award in her name.

Past Recipients of Helen Krause, MD, Distinguished Service Award

1961                  James E. Landis, MD, Reading
1964                  Matthew S. Ersner, MD, Philadelphia
1973                  Daniel S. DeStio, MD, Pittsburgh
1975                  John T. Dickinson, MD, Pittsburgh
1977                  David Myers, MD, Philadelphia
1979                  James M. Cole, MD, Danville
1980                  Silvio H. DeBlasio, MD, Pittsburgh
1983                  Bernard J. Ronis, MD, Philadelphia
1985                  Eugene G. Rex, MD, Philadelphia
1986                  Donald B. Kamerer, MD, Pittsburgh
1988                  Stewart R. Rood, PhD, Pittsburgh
1990                  G. William Jaquiss, MD, Pittsburgh
1991                  Clyde B. Lamp, Jr., MD, Pittsburgh
1992                  Donald P. Vrabec, MD, Danville
1993                  Helen F. Krause, MD, Pittsburgh
1994                  George H. Conner, MD, Hershey
1994                  Louis D. Lowry, MD, Philadelphia
1995                  Thomas L. Kennedy, MD, Danville
1996                  Alfred K. Walter, Reading
1997                  Webb Hersperger, MD, Carlisle
1998                  John Milliron, Harrisburg
1999                  James B. Snow, Jr., MD, Easton, MD
2000                  None Presented
2001                  None Presented
2002                  None Presented
2003                  Phillip K. Pellitteri, DO, FACS, Danville
2004                  Karen A. Rizzo, MD, FACS, Lancaster
2005                  Barry E. Hirsch, MD, Pittsburgh
2006                  Edmund A. Pribitkin, MD, Philadelphia
2007                  Scott M. Gayner, MD, Mechanicsburg
2008                  Robert T. Sataloff, MD, DMA, FACS, Philadelphia
2009                  Robert L. Ferris, MD, PhD, FACS, Pittsburgh
2010                  None Presented
2011                  None Presented
2012                  Eugene N. Myers, MD, FACS, Pittsburgh
2013                  David W. Kennedy, MD, Philadelphia
2014                  Jason G. Newman, MD, FACS, Philadelphia
2015                  Berrylin J. Ferguson, MD, FAAOA, FACS, PIttsburgh
2016                  David Goldenberg, MD, FACS, Hershey
2017                  Jeffrey Simons, MD, FACS, FAAP, Pittsburgh 

Citation for Distinguished Service

Presented to a non-physician who has done unusual work for the deaf, hearing or speech impaired.

Past Recipients of Citation for Distinguished Service

1991                  James C. Roddey, Pittsburgh
1992                  None Presented
1993                  David P. Augustine, RN, Clinician I, Mt. Carmel
1994                  Carol Finkle, M Ed, MA, Philadelphia
1995                  Rachel D. Dubin, Baltimore
1996                  Patricia Exley Ambler & Ann Friedlander, Wynnewood
1997                  Christina Seaborg, MA, Wilkes-Barre
1998                  Pamela Dickinson, MS, CCC-A, Pittsburgh
1999                  Virginia Ehr, North Myrtle Beach, SC
2000                  None Presented
2001                  Mark Y. Harlor, M Ed, Danville
2002                  Laura R. Sabol, M. Ed, CCC/SLP, Lancaster
2003                  Hearing Center of Children’s Hosp of Pitts Community Advisory Board
2004                  None Presented
2005                  Kathleen J. Gilmartin, Au.D., University of Pittsburgh Ear & Eye Inst.
2006                  Catherine V. Palmer, Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
2007                  George Nofer, JD, Philadelphia, PA
2008                  Roberta Aungst, MS, CCC-A
2009                  Deborrah Johnston, Au.D., DePaul School for Hearing and Speech
2010                  John Nicotra
2011                  None Presented
2012                  Donald E. Rhoten, M.Ed., M.S., Pittsburgh
2013                  None Presented
2014                  Anne Gaspich, Harrisburg
2015                  None Presented       
2016                  Mary Hawkshaw, RN, BSN, CORLN, Drexel University College of Medicine 
2017                  Katherine T. Verdolini Abbott, PhD, M.Div


Community Service Citation

Presented to a lay person in Pennsylvania (frequently a legislator) who has rendered outstanding service to community in support of quality health care.

Past Recipients of Community Service Citation

1991                  State Senator J. Doyle Corman, Bellefonte
1992                  State Representative Edwin G. Johnson, Hollidaysburg
1993                  State Representative Elaine F. Farmer, McCandless
1994                  U. S. Senator Arlen Specter
1995                  State Representative Matthew J. Ryan, Delaware County
1996                  Hon. Merle Phillips, Sunbury
1997                  Gov. Thomas Ridge, Harrisburg
1998                  Hon. J. Scot Chadwick, Harrisburg
1999                  None Presented
2000                  None Presented
2001                  Hon. Charles T. McIlhinney, Jr., Harrisburg
2002                  Hon. Curt Schroder, Harrisburg
2003                  Hon. Jane C. Orie, Pittsburgh
2004                  Hon. Rick Santorum
2005                  Hon. Jake Corman
2006                  Hon. Charles D. Lemmond
2007                  Hon. Jim Gerlach
2008                  Hon. Mike Turzai, Allegheny County
2009                  Hon. P. Michael Sturla, Lancaster County
2010                  Hon. Susan Helm, Dauphin County
2011                  None Presented
2012                  Hon. Ronald S. Marsico, Dauphin County
2013                  Hon. Joseph B. Scarnati, III
2014                  Hon. Jay Costa, Pittsburgh
2015                  Hon. Mark Mustio
2016                  None Presented​
2017                  Madame Justice Sandra Schultz Newman